Mini-blog 1 — The early bird gets the worm

Over the next several weeks in addition to my regular Thursday blog,I will be posting a Tuesday ‘mini-blog’ about my Disney park experiences based on some of those wonderful platitudes that we all have heard most of our lives.

Disney morning

I hate getting up early in the morning.  If left to my own devices I would sleep inn until 8, lay in bed, read for an hour or so, get dressed about 10ish, and then tackle life.  I am not an early bird.  I have never been particularly fond of this phrase and ignore it as often as I can.  But let me tell you: this is advice you want to follow at the Disney Parks!

Get up and get moving as early as possible.  Lines are shorter.  Fastpasses are plentiful.  Crowds are thin.  Extra magic hours?  Use them!  The Princess & I managed to do all of Fantasyland once during before 9:00 am.  We didn’t wait in line for anything longer than it took to load.  It was awesome!

Every time we finish a trip, I think to myself, “I should stay on this schedule.  Get up early.  Get things done.”  When we get home that impulse lasts for a day or two.  Once as long as a week.  Does that mean that this platitude is only true at a Disney Park?  I don’t think so.

I think that the early bird needs to be properly motivated.  I am always very inspired to get up early if it means I don’t have to wait in line for Dumbo.  I am less inspired if it means I get my laundry started earlier.   It is true that the early bird catches the worm, but the early bird actually has to want the worm it can catch.

Leave a Reply

