Mini-blog #6 — Why we love: Dory

dory“Finding Dory” is coming soon and we are SOOO excited!  Why you may ask.  Because we love Dory.  In fact we don’t even understand those people who don’t love Dory.  She is engaging.  She is upbeat.  She is funny.  She is loyal.  She is unfailingly accepting.  What’s not to love?

For me, I find her engaging because is so very different from me.  She is an extreme extrovert.  More than that, she assumes the best about those around her.  Sharks?  They might be fun.  Jellyfish?  Let’s play with them?  Whales.  I speak what, you know.  I, on the other hand, am an introvert.  It takes me no time at all to come up with reasons why people would not want to talk to me, even when faced with evidence to the contrary.  I think in addition to love, I feel a small bit of envy.

The world might be a much better place if we were all like Dory; if we assumed the best of people rather than assigning them motivations which they may or may not have.  What if we took everyone at face value and accepted them for who they are?  In other words, what if we loved one another just as we have been loved?

Leave a Reply

