“A Very Merry Unbirthday to Me”

I have been blogging away for a full year now and I would like to take this time to share what I have learned about this medium.

  •  BLOGGING IS SCARY
    • In this day and age of internet accessibility and over saturation of the blogosphere.  It is scary to put out yet another blog.  Will anyone read it or will it just languish on my site another obscure blog read only by family members?  Will people read it and then tell me it’s bad?  Of course the most frightening thing has to be the fear of ‘trolls’.  People who log on specifically to be hateful and demeaning.  Every time I press publish, there is that fear that someone who doesn’t know me is going to find my blog and be mean to me for no other reason than they can.  I don’t know if I am just lucky that this hasn’t happened to me, or just so obscure that I am not worth a troll’s time.  Either way I am grateful.
  • BLOGGING IS HARD
    • There is nothing quite so intimidating as sitting in front of a black computer screen knowing something needs to be written and having no clue what to write.  Especially when you know that writing will be available on a wider world stage.  I have a very small (4) group of followers who live overseas.  Why they choose to read this odd little blog is beyond me, but I am mindful that my audience has experience wider than my own.  I want what I write to be good, of course, but I also want it to be meaningful.  I want the people who take time out of their busy days to read my words feel like it has been time well spent.  Doing that well is hard.  I admire the people who blog 5-7 days a week, I’m fairly sure that if I tried to do that, I would be whimpering in a corner in a week.
  • BLOGGING IS FUN
    • In spite of all that, I enjoy this process.  I love telling my stories about The Princess and Mr. Mouse.  I love sharing what Disney means to me.  I love making connections between the church and the world.  But the most fun I have is when people talk to me about their own experiences.  I LOVE that this blog has allowed me to connect with people in new ways and hear their stories.  Ultimately that is the point.

So it is my Unbirthday, Blogoversary, or whatever you want to call this.  I will continue on into my second year.  There are more Disney movies to watch and more stories to tell.  I will be experiencing my first Run Disney event in 2016, so that should be good for a laugh or two.  Who knows what else is in store in the next 12 months?

Thank you for reading, following, and indulging me in this experiment.  Let’s see what’s next together.

With Faith, Trust, & Pixie Dust,

Pastor Mouse

One thought on ““A Very Merry Unbirthday to Me”

  1. Lee Hamilton

    Your novel story-telling about living the Christian faith inspires me to read your blogs. Just like church, I miss sometimes, and know it’s my loss. Happy Year Two.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

