10 Reasons Disneyland is better than Disney World: #7

#7 –No App Required

Our last two trips to Disneyland and Walt Disney World differed in one significant way.  Almost all of our planning and reservations for the trip to the World happened online.  We even had to pick our FastPasses the day before we went to a park.  Now I am a planner.  I love organizing our trips to Disney, but that was even too much planning for me.  Now that’s saying something.  It was very inconvenient to get to our FastPass ride and find there was only a 5 minute wait.  Meanwhile we couldn’t get a pass for a ride with a longer wait since we hadn’t picked it the day before.

While it is in some ways convenient to have all your information in one app on your phone, the problem is that all your information is in one app on your phone.  If you are using your phone to take photos, texting family members to meet at designated times, making your friends jealous on social media, and tracking rides, reservations and FastPasses; the battery on the phone is doomed.  There are choices to be made.  Do you take that perfect photo of your spouse and Mickey or do you save the last 5% of battery life so you have a reservation confirmation?  I don’t like making those decisions.  I like being able to choose a FastPass when I get to the ride, I like my dining reservation in my travel book, and I like to keep my phone for doing phone things.  Sure it’s nice to have up to date wait times, but I’ve been coping without those for years.

I love that you can get the full Disneyland experience without the online component.  Yes, I might have to wait in a longer line, but honestly isn’t that part of the experience, too?  Plus there is the added bonus that if you don’t use an extra FastPass, they look great in a scrapbook.

Don’t be afraid to disconnect!  It is the Happiest Place on Earth.  I’m sure you can find something to do.

One thought on “10 Reasons Disneyland is better than Disney World: #7

  1. CAROL LEE HAMILTON

    I am such a Disney park novice, I didn’t know there were FastPasses (at the World if I understand). I’d like to suggest an external battery for your cell phone. I like the security of knowing I can attach my external battery for a couple of hours of use. I’d suspect there are newer and superior models of external batteries that last several hours.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

