10 Reasons Walt Disney World is better than Disneyland: #9

9. Sorcerers of the Magic Kingdom

This is where I let my inner ten year old out.  I LOVE the Sorcerers of the Magic Kingdom Game.  For those of you unaware of this interactive experience, I will give you some information.  In 2012, Disney debuted a new multi-point quest style game for guests.  Using clues and a map, a guest follows a story line through the Magic Kingdom.  Story elements are revealed at interactive screens where after a brief introduction, the player performs a task and is sent to the next point.  Players collect different cards with different skills to achieve the goals of the quest.  There are several versions of this kind of interactive game play.  This one is, of course, Disney themed.

In Sorcerers, the story is that Hades is tired of living in the Underworld and has recruited other villains to help him take over the Magic Kingdom.  (Honestly, who wouldn’t want to live in the Magic Kingdom?)  Merlin is trying to stop him and needs a team of new apprentices to help.  This is where the guests come in.  The new apprentices are sent out with the guidance of Pongo to find these villains and stop them.  They are equipped with magic cards to help them along the way.  In the course of the story they confront, Cruella de Vil, Dr. Facilier, and the hyenas from ‘Lion King’ and other villains.  I personally didn’t finish the quests so I can’t tell you how the story ends.  I assume with enough time and a very patient family, Hades can be defeated and happily ever after will ensue.

Guests can sign-up to play, start their first quest and get a pack of ‘magic’ cards at the fire station on Main Street.  From there you travel from land to land (except Tomorrowland) finding ‘portals’ that reveal animated story sequences.  The cards are used to attack or defend as villains try to stop the apprentices from saving the Magic Kingdom.  Every time an apprentice returns to the fire station to get a new map, check quest progress, ask a question, or just need to be reminded where they are in a quest because they spent all of the previous day at Epcot they can get a new pack of magic cards.  You can now find sets of these cards online for purchase, but when I was there last they were given away for free in the park.

I had heard about the game before our last visit and decided to check it out while The Princess was getting her hair cut at the barber shop.  This game plugs into all the things that make me happy.  I love the quests.  I love collecting the cards.  I love finding the hidden windows and watching the animation.  My family tolerates this behavior.  Usually.  Sometimes they even help me find the portals.  It is fun and a great thing to do in between other things.  Usually I would stop at a portal as we were walking by on the way to a ride.  But I also did some in what would normally be time standing around.  I got a couple of tasks done while we waited for The Tiki Room show to start.  I got another couple done waiting for the Country Bears.  It was also a great activity for me when Mr. Mouse needed a break.  I could park him at a table in the area I was looking in with a drink and a snack.  He could rest, I could still be doing things and everyone was happy.

I had a good time and would have spent a lot more time at it had The Princess been younger and interested, if I was willing to wander the park by myself, or if I had unlimited time to spend at the resort.  I was not going to give up days at the other parks to finish my quests.  I can see this being a great experience for families who live in the area and have season passes.

There is nothing like it in Disneyland.  Which is a shame really.  It is definitely one of the reasons Walt Disney World is better than Disneyland.

Leave a Reply

