I’m okay just being OK

This sentiment, spoken by Mike at the end of the movie, really sounded a note with me.  I have been dealing with my own personal mid-life crisis over the last year or so.  I have had to come to the realization that most of the things I thought I wanted when I was planning my life are never going to come to be.  The bigger realization is that I am surprisingly okay with that.

As I look back on the things that I wanted from my life, they are very predictable.  I wanted to be rich.  I wanted to be famous.  I wanted to be important.  The way those goals expressed themselves varied at different ages.  I went through rock star, movie star, princess, lottery winner, and world-famous author phases just to name a few.  I have written imaginary acceptance speeches for everything from the Nobel Prize to the office of President of the United States.  At this point in my life I have realized that these things will not happen.  None of those things I wanted to be and do turned out to be necessary to my life.  And while a small fortune would be useful, it is not a requirement for happiness.

Like the intrepid Mike Wazowski, I do not need to be great.  The life that I have crafted is small in scope.  My circle of influence does not extend into the halls of power.  The majority of people in this world will live and die and never know that I existed.  While this may sound negative and depressing, it really isn’t.  It is actually an acceptance of who I am and the life that I lead.  My life is good.  It is not Great, Powerful, or Famous but it is mine and I am okay with that.

My life may be small in scope, but it is rich in all the things that matter.  I am content in my obscurity.  I am at peace with the choices I have made.  I am okay with just being OK and that is a great thing to be.

Leave a Reply

